HOME
Review Date: April 14, 2015

Member:
Chris Kosonen
623 Drexel Avenue
GLENCOE, IL 60022

Category:
Epoxy Flooring

Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.

Work Completed Date:
February 27, 2015

Hire Again:
Yes

Description Of Work:
Installed Hercke stainless steel cabinet and gear wall system in storage room.

Member Comments:
I have used the Garage Store for several projects over the years (garage storage system, epoxy garage floor, etc.) and I have always been impressed by their professionalism and quality of work. The project went extremely smooth and I was very satisfied.

Share on Band of Neighbors:
YES

Overall
A
Price
A
Quality
A
Responsiveness
A
Punctuality
A
Professionalism
A





Review Date: April 12, 2015

Member:
Maureen Toomey
6244 N Knox Ave
Chicago, IL 60646

Category:
Cabinet Making
Epoxy Flooring

Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.

Work Completed Date:
April 11, 2015

Last Modified Date:
January 20, 2015

Hire Again:
Yes

Description Of Work:
Installed new epoxy floor, stained wood rafters, installed complete wall storage system, installed cabinets and various storage systems, and installed lighting system. This was for a three car garage

Member Comments:
All aspects of the installation went extremely well. The team was professional and highly trained and knowledgeable. Jim Melchert, Founder and CEO, was also very involved and made himself available throughout the job. Their communication was excellent and maintained a very tight timetable for themselves which they fulfilled perfectly. The flooring and cabinetry was also of very high quality. This was a complete garage makeover and the results were outstanding. These guys are the equivalent of California Closets for Garages! The Garage Store receives our highest recommendation.

Share on Band of Neighbors:
YES

Overall
A
Price
B
Quality
A
Responsiveness
A
Punctuality
A
Professionalism
A





Review Date: April 01, 2015

Member:
James Larsen
139 Hilltop Lane
Sleepy Hollow, IL 60118

Category:
Concrete - Pouring & Repair
Drywall
Epoxy Flooring

Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.

Work Completed Date:
March 31, 2015

Last Modified Date:
January 20, 2015

Hire Again:
Yes

Description Of Work:
2 coats of primer, mud and tape 50 year old drywall that was completely stained and never finished
Fixed numerous cracks and issues with the concrete floor
Epoxy coated garage floor
Painted the walls

Member Comments:
I recently purchased a 1960s ranch and the garage was a disaster. The drywall was never mud and taped. The floor was full of deep cracks and I thought it was to the point it couldn't be fixed. Jim and his employees were awesome and explained all the options and what the best course of action would be. After the weather cooperated and warmed up (some cracks went under the door and outside) they were out right away in early spring. Even when the temperature dipped back down they let me know exactly what was going on and when they would be able to finish. They cared more about doing the job right instead of just a pay day. You would never know my garage was the point I thought I had to gut it for new drywall and deal with the moon crater looking floor forever. The whole job due to weather delays and the condition of the floors and walls was only a week from disaster to a brochure quality looking garage. Highly recommend Jim and his guys, they do excellent work.

Share on Band of Neighbors:
YES

Overall
A
Price
A
Quality
A
Responsiveness
A
Punctuality
A
Professionalism
A





Review Date: April 01, 2015

Member:
James Larsen
139 Hilltop Lane
Sleepy Hollow, IL 60118

Category:
Concrete - Pouring & Repair
Drywall
Epoxy Flooring

Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.

Work Completed Date:
March 31, 2015

Last Modified Date:
January 20, 2015

Hire Again:
Yes

Description Of Work:
2 coats of primer, mud and tape 50 year old drywall that was completely stained and never finished
Fixed numerous cracks and issues with the concrete floor
Epoxy coated garage floor
Painted the walls

Member Comments:
I recently purchased a 1960s ranch and the garage was a disaster. The drywall was never mud and taped. The floor was full of deep cracks and I thought it was to the point it couldn't be fixed. Jim and his employees were awesome and explained all the options and what the best course of action would be. After the weather cooperated and warmed up (some cracks went under the door and outside) they were out right away in early spring. Even when the temperature dipped back down they let me know exactly what was going on and when they would be able to finish. They cared more about doing the job right instead of just a pay day. You would never know my garage was the point I thought I had to gut it for new drywall and deal with the moon crater looking floor forever. The whole job due to weather delays and the condition of the floors and walls was only a week from disaster to a brochure quality looking garage. Highly recommend Jim and his guys, they do excellent work.

Share on Band of Neighbors:
YES

Overall
A
Price
B
Quality
A
Responsiveness
A
Punctuality
A
Professionalism
A





Review Date: March 27, 2015

Member:
Jody longshore
2065 Green Trails Dr
Lisle, IL 60532

Category:
Concrete - Pouring & Repair Epoxy Flooring

Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.

Work Completed Date:
December 19, 2014

Last Modified Date:
January 20, 2015

Hire Again:
Yes

Description Of Work:
Installed a polyurea garage floor.

Member Comments:
I made a difficult ask of these guys. I was closing on a new house and asked them to come in and get the floor in over the weekend between closing on a Friday and when my stuff arrived the next Monday. I was warned that the timeline was tight but they said they would do their best to get the job done. The crew was very punctual and polite. Showed up on time and worked their tails off. The job did not get done on time but it was not for lack of effort. Instead it was to ensure quality of work (which was excellent). It was a very cold couple of days and so it took longer than normal for the floor to cure. They put a heater in to warm up the surface but it still took longer than hoped. While it was an inconvenience that the job was not done on time, I really appreciated their commitment to quality and as I said I was fairly warned and the delay was not for lack of effort. While not cheap, I thought their price was fair and the quality of work warranted the cost. I will hire them again to put in some garage storage and would recommend them to a friend.

Share on Band of Neighbors:
No
Transcribed from a telephone interview

Overall
A
Price
B
Quality
A
Responsiveness
A
Punctuality
A
Professionalism
A





Review Date: January 14, 2015

Member:
Kristin Pagenkopf
2895 Techny Rd
Northbrook, IL 60062

Category:
Organization - Home & Garage

Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.

Work Completed Date:
July 01, 2014

Last Modified Date:
January 20, 2015

Hire Again:
Yes

Description Of Work:
They provided storage solutions and floor covering.

Member Comments:
The service was fantastic. A total of about six workers would come out depending on the day and it took them about five days to complete the job. I would say they did an outstanding job, prompt, fairly priced and professional. I have recommend them to friends.

Share on Band of Neighbors:
Yes
Transcribed from a telephone interview

Overall
A
Price
A
Quality
A
Responsiveness
A
Punctuality
A
Professionalism
A





Review Date: January 06, 2015

Member:
Andrew Morgavan
3304 Comstock Ct.
Mundelein, IL 60060-6006

Category:
Epoxy Flooring

Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.

Work Completed Date:
November 24, 2014

Hire Again:
Yes

Approximate Cost:
$810.00

Home Build Year:
2007

Description Of Work:
Install overhead Safe Racks in garage

Member Comments:
The installer was on time, explained first where and in what configuration he would install the racks, then after he was done installing them, showed us how to put on the hanging hooks. We love the racks and are very satisfied with the installation. We could not have done it ourselves. The cost included 2 large racks and several pairs of hooks as well as installation, so the price was very reasonable.

Share on Band of Neighbors:
Yes

Overall
A
Price
A
Quality
A
Responsiveness
A
Punctuality
A
Professionalism
A





This review wasn't submitted by an Angie's List member. Non-member reviews don't factor in to recent or overall grades. More...
Review Date: October 06, 2014

Member:
ron conrad
, 60110

Category:
Epoxy Flooring

Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.

Work Completed Date:
July 11, 2014

Hire Again:
Yes

Description Of Work:
They installed cabinets and refinished floor

Member Comments:
they provided great service at reasonable rates in professional manner. . it was a pleasure having them complete work in my residence.

Share on Band of Neighbors:
Yes





Review Date: September 28, 2014

Member:
john adamczyk
102 chatsworth cir
SCHAUMBURG, IL 60194

Categories:
Cabinet Making
Drywall
Epoxy Flooring
Organization - Home & Garage

Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.

Work Completed Date:
September 26, 2014

Last Modified Date:
December 19, 2014

Hire Again:
Yes

Approximate Cost:
$8,500.00

Description Of Work:
I had the Garage Store install the Gladiator wall track system, cabinets and selves. They made repairs to my dry wall, installed new dry wall and paint ceiling and walls in my garage. The job turned out excellent. We are very happy with their work. Jim the owner takes pride in his work. He made this project easy for us. They came on time, worked very professional and also wanted to make certain we were pleased with their work.

Member Comments:
We made a good decision to work with Jim and the Garage Store. My neighbors have asked me who did this work. I am happy we chose the Garage Store.

Share on Band of Neighbors:
No
Submitted from Angie's List iPad Application

Overall
A
Price
A
Quality
A
Responsiveness
A
Punctuality
A
Professionalism
A





Review Date: July 25, 2014 Member:
Sharon Dieter
3045 Farner Court
Riverwoods, IL 60015

Category:
Epoxy Flooring

Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.

Work Completed Date:
May 07, 2014

Last Modified Date:
July 26, 2014

Hire Again:
Yes

Approximate Cost:
$2,700.00

Home Build Year:
1957

Description Of Work:
Epoxy/polyurea floor for our 2.5 car garage

Member Comments:
I would give the Garage Store an "A" for quality of workmanship on the floor, which is the most important part of the transaction. However, I would have to give them a B+ on professionalism customer service due to a misunderstanding over replacing our floor drain.

Garage Store did a beautiful job on our epoxy/polyurea garage floor. We had the entire floor done including a step as well as a few inches up the wall like a cove base so that the floor would be easier to hose down. They had a really good selection of colors and we chose one that transitioned perfectly from our brick driveway to garage floor. They even sent us a sample of the color we chose (flake sedona) so that we could use it to choose paint colors. We also requested and were provided with a local reference who let us see their garage floor which Garage Store had done.

Our floor was done as scheduled and the guys who did the work were on time and very talented, as you can see from how great the floor looks. The process does take several days to prep the concrete and put on the layers and flakes but it is well worth it. The texture is not slippery at all, even when wet, because the flakes give it a plenty of grip. I can also now walk into the garage barefoot or in socks and not have to worry about getting my socks or soles of my feet dirty. Everyone who sees the floor loves the floor. To clean it I just use a large broom sweeper or my shop vac and then hose it down.

In a couple of the photos, you will notice some loose color flakes that landed on the edge of our brick driveway. These blew away in a few days and were not an issue.

One caveat:
The gentleman who came out to do our estimate included replacing our 11" garage floor drain in writing on our written quote. However, the owner, Jim, didn't notice the drain included on the estimate until the week before our scheduled date to have the floor done. He drove to my house to check out the drain and explained that his company does not replace drains as large as ours but he would attempt to locate one for us.

Unfortunately, he was not able to locate a replacement drain but I was able to have a local welder make one. After the floor was completed, Jim and I talked on the phone and came to a fair compromise on the cost of the drain.

Overall, I'm very happy with the work that was done on the floor and am happy that Jim was willing to work with me on the drain issue to make it right. It was the only hiccup in an otherwise smooth process.

Share on Band of Neighbors:
Yes

Overall
A
Price
A
Quality
A
Responsiveness
A
Punctuality
A
Professionalism
B




Review Date: October 24, 2013

Member:
Jonathan Jackson
37 Ravine Forest Dr.
LAKE BLUFF, IL 60044

Category:
Cabinet Making

Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.

Work Completed Date:
October 01, 2013

Hire Again:
Yes

Approximate Cost:
$5,000.00

Description Of Work:
Garage Store installed a new wall storage system, hooks, cabinets, and overhead storage in my garage and also installed a wall storage system, tables, and large cabinets in my basement work room.

Member Comments:
Jim and his crew were great! They were right on time, worked hard to install all items as quickly as possible, and made sure everything was cleaned-up when the job was complete. They were very careful not to damage any walls when installing cabinets on the inside of my house. One of the large cabinets to be installed was damaged at the factory - Garage Store did not install the defective cabinet and notified me of the situation. They arranged for a new cabinet to be delivered and installed at a later date. They also did not charge me for the remainder of the balance due for the entire project until after the new cabinet was installed. Overall, a great experience, and we really enjoy our new storage!

Share on Band of Neighbors:
No





Review Date: February 05, 2013

Member:
Kathy Williams
3777 Canton Circle
MUNDELEIN, IL 60060

Category:
Epoxy Flooring

Services Performed:
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date:
January 23, 2013

Hire Again:
Yes

Approximate Cost:
$1,700.00

Description Of Work:
The Garage Store installed hanging shelves and wall systems to store items in my garage. They even put all the things up on the shelves and organized it the way we wanted it. They went above and beyond just installing the shelving and storage systems

. We could not be happier. They are coming back when the weather is warmer to do an epoxy coating on the floor. Member Comments:
Garage Store was efficient, friendly and did a wonderful job of cleaning up the premises after they were done. We are extremely happy with what has been done so far and are anxious for the weather to warm-up so that the floor can be completed. I would recommend them to anyone wanting an efficient garage storage set-up.